The best known of all crustaceans are the decapods. They include the largest arthropods and many commercial species such as the mud crab (Scylla serrata), blue swimming crab (Portunus armatus (previously known as P. pelagicus)), red-spot king prawn (Melicertus longistylus), Moreton Bay bug (Thenus spp.) and spiny lobsters (Panulirus spp.). Decapods have a well-developed carapace covering the thorax, and five (rarely four) pairs of legs of which one or more pairs usually forms a cheliped (pincer). At least nine decapod infraorders are recognised: Dendrobranchiata (peneidean prawns), Caridea (shrimps), Stenopodidea (coral shrimps), Polychelida (deep-sea blind lobsters), Achelata (spiny-crayfish), Astacidea (clawed lobsters and freshwater crayfish), Thalassinidea (mud-shrimps, marine yabbies), Anomura (hermit crabs, squat lobsters, mole crabs), and Brachyura (true crabs). With the exception of the deep-sea polychelids, members of the other infraorders occur on the GBR.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Worm Farming

Worm Farming

Do You Want To Learn More About Green Living That Can Save You Money? Discover How To Create A Worm Farm From Scratch! Recycling has caught on with a more people as the years go by. Well, now theres another way to recycle that may seem unconventional at first, but it can save you money down the road.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment