Five Kingdoms Taxonomy and Its Logic

The five kingdoms of life is a modern taxo-nomic scheme, based largely on the work of R. H. Whittaker (1924-1980). Its main virtues are its fidelity to life's morphological and chemical diversity, and evolution. It is widely, though not exclusively, considered to be the most logical way to group organisms, based not only on their likenesses and differences but also on their evolutionary history. The five kingdoms are the Kingdom Monera (bacteria, also known as prokary-otes); the Kingdom Protoctista (eukaryotes or organisms consisting of cells with nuclei, excluding plants, animals, and fungi); the Kingdom Fungi; the Kingdom Plantae; and the Kingdom Animalia. These last two kingdoms, plants and animals, were long considered dichotomous opposites, two great groups into which all living beings could be nicely divided. However, the discovery of microbes (which include organisms that have both plantlike and animal-like characteristics) and an increasing awareness by biologists since the nineteenth century of evolution made the ancient plant-animal division untenable.

Worm Farming

Worm Farming

Do You Want To Learn More About Green Living That Can Save You Money? Discover How To Create A Worm Farm From Scratch! Recycling has caught on with a more people as the years go by. Well, now theres another way to recycle that may seem unconventional at first, but it can save you money down the road.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment