Hemicryptophytes have renewal buds that are located at ground level. Three subdivisions are recognized (Figure 2D): (1) nonrosette forms (called protohemicryptophytes), (2) subrosette forms, and (3) rosette forms. The first of these three forms consists of plants without basal leaves (e.g., Iris); the second type has basal and elevated stem leaves (e.g., Campanula); the last forms have all or nearly all of their leaves in a compact basal arrangement (e.g., Taraxacum). Of the five major life-form groups, this is the largest and most heterogeneous in terms of species number and taxonomic diversity.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
10 Ways To Fight Off Cancer

10 Ways To Fight Off Cancer

Learning About 10 Ways Fight Off Cancer Can Have Amazing Benefits For Your Life The Best Tips On How To Keep This Killer At Bay Discovering that you or a loved one has cancer can be utterly terrifying. All the same, once you comprehend the causes of cancer and learn how to reverse those causes, you or your loved one may have more than a fighting chance of beating out cancer.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment