Life Forms Based on Developmental Criteria

There are five basic developmental processes that dictate the manner in which algae achieve organized growth, that is, the degree to which cyto- and karyokinesis are synchronized, the extent to which cells remain joined together after cell division, whether cytoplasmic continuity is maintained after cell division, whether growth (cell division) is determinate or indeterminate, and the number and orientation of the planes of cell division that produce the multicellular plant body (Figure 1). These five developmental processes combine to generate only three major algal life-forms: unicellular, colonial, and multicellular (Table 1).

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Oplan Termites

Oplan Termites

You Might Start Missing Your Termites After Kickin'em Out. After All, They Have Been Your Roommates For Quite A While. Enraged With How The Termites Have Eaten Up Your Antique Furniture? Can't Wait To Have Them Exterminated Completely From The Face Of The Earth? Fret Not. We Will Tell You How To Get Rid Of Them From Your House At Least. If Not From The Face The Earth.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment